Download the conference programme

Keynote speakers

The conference committee is thrilled to confirm the below keynote speakers who will be sharing their knowledge at the 2021 Energy Evaluation Europe virtual conference.

Chris Thompson is the Director for Clean Growth at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS). He leads BEIS’s work on delivering emission reduction while seizing the economic benefits of the low carbon transition. His previous role was Labour Market Director in BEIS where he lead the Government response to the Matthew Taylor Review of Modern Working Practices. Prior to that Chris worked on the Consumer Rights Bill in BEIS, Further and Higher Education policy in DfE and a range of roles in HM Treasury.

Dr Hans Bruyninckx became the Executive Director of the European Environment Agency on 1 June 2013. In 1996 he completed a PhD in international environmental politics at Colorado State University and since 2010 headed the HIVA Research Institute in Leuven which specialises in policy research. Over the last 20 years, he has conducted research in more than a dozen countries, in areas including environmental politics, climate change, and sustainable development.